Is this real life?

Here we go, the start to a never ending cycle… “Nummer 1”

Yes, I googled that. I do not know a lich of German. I don’t know how to tell you my name, my age or where I am from. I feel like Kailyn, my two-year old neice. The only word I know how to say is “No.” NICHT! Hey, at least I know how to avoid the things I don’t want……right?

If I had a dime for every time I was asked who, what, when, where or why I am doing this I probably could have payed for my flight three times over. But, again, for your sake and to get things started I will answer one more time.

What is an AuPair?

Always the first question. “Such a weird word.” Google it. Seriously, google is a beautiful thing and it will tell you more than I ever can.

AuPair: A young foreign person, typically a woman, who helps with housework or child care in exchange for room and board.

It’s a french word. It means “to be equal” or “to become one.” I join a family. I become a sister, a friend, a confident, a newfound daughter, a mother and a foreigner all in one. I am to be equal to these people I join with for the next year or so. Lucky them! ;)

Let’s get down to it. You are probably still questioning me.

“So you’re like.. a maid, right”  O.o

Not so much. Basically, I move. I leave everything I know and have ever known and I move across the world for the next year or so.  I take everything I own, and I relocate it to Dorfen, Germany and hope that my luggage doesn’t get lost.

I care for two little girls- soon to be three- while their parents are working. I have time off to travel, I take language courses and learn the Germany way. I drink German beer on the weekends. I get spending money and get to travel the world in return. I also get 24/7 access to Skype. For all of my super paranoid family members.

Who? 

The Grebe family. Alex and Eva are in their 30’s and  they are just as new to this as I am. They speak English, and they speak it much better than they think they do! And finally, two babies- for now- Emelia and Sophia. Emelia is 3, and through skype, has already drawn my portrait ten times over with three legs and two extra ears. Sophia, not exactly a lover of our skype sessions, is six months.. and as long as Alex is willing to let her chew on the calculator, she will usually withstand 20 minutes of conversation.

When?

Well, that question is finally answered as of last week. December 11th, 2012 I board a 12 hour flight to Munich Germany. I return…. well sometime next year. I don’t know that yet. I guess when I can’t take missing my mom anymore and crave to hear the vacuum running at 6am again. (Mother, I can not guarantee that I will in fact miss this.)

Where?

Dorfen, Germany will be called home. It’s a small valley town in the very south-eastern part of Germany, about a half hour from Munich in the district of Erding in Bavaria, Germany. What all this means I have no clue. I just know I’m a half hour from Munich in the country of Germany and somewhere around 4,000 miles away from home.

And finally… Why?

So,  you either “get” this or you don’t. 90% of people think I am insane.

Why? Because I want to. Because I think that moving to the other side of the earth and waking up to something new literally everyday for the next year is going to be awesome. Because I think it will strengthen my relationships. Because I think it is so cool that Emelia goes to sports, kindergarten, choir and swimming group at the age of three. Because I think other cultures are remarkable and castles fascinate me. Because while everyone else is living day to day life, I will be exploring the world. And, quite frankly, because no one else is doing it and I’m going to spend weeks just telling stories when I get home. And because I can not stop asking myself….

“Is this real life?”

Neuschwanstein Castle. Munich, Germany.

9 thoughts on “Is this real life?

  1. mikebehere says:

    I am an AU Pair in Germany too, you will love it. This is a really good explanation of what an Au Pair is, though I must say that no is nein, nicht is not. I truly hope you have an excellent time and wish you all the best!

  2. ifs ands & butts says:

    No is actually Nein, and you will hear it ALL the time. Two is a great age because I learned a ton of German from my two year old last year as he spoke simply and people spoke simply too him.

    Don’t worry, people thought I was nuts-o too :)

  3. Becca says:

    We lived in Bavaria for a little over a year. They are the friendliest of Germans! It’s so, so beautiful! There’s a big english speaking community in Munich too. And you will be arriving just in time for the magical Christmas markets!!

    • pinkparliament says:

      Awesome! I love hearing everyone talk about how much I am going to love this! I was looking up the markets and they look SO awesome! Can’t wait to get there, I know Im going to LOVE this!

  4. bevchen says:

    Found you via Kulturschock (and I also read ifsandsandbutts). This is a great post.

    I’ve never been an AuPair, but am an ex-pat in Germany (English though, not American) and I love reading about other people’s experiences with the Germans :-D

say something

