Home

First off, you should load this song and listen to it as you read this post. It explains it better than I ever can.

As I get into the swing of things here in Germany, I can’t help but start to miss home. Not necessarily in the “I want to leave” kind of way.. But in the “aw, home” kind of way. This morning as I skyped with my mom and my furbabies (who are obviously pissed that I left them)

moosh

..I could not help but look into the background. Home. The Christmas tree is up and the house still looks the same. I can smell the clean laundry from here. I can (almost) hear that damn vacuum at 6am. I can’t wait to get back. I’m just as excited to get back as I was to leave. Don’t take that in a bad way, Germany. So far, I love it here. I love everything about the landscape, the culture and the people. So far, Germany is prooving to be perfect. (Except the time difference, we are not friends nor will we ever be)

When I first got to Germany, I was in such awe over the scenery that I totally seemed to block out what I have right at home. I blocked it out until I showed my host family, and they were just as in awe over my town, as I was over theirs.

DSC00008

And as I sit here and ponder, I realize I haven’t told you more about this place I call home. (Sorry for the night pictures, this was on my way to the airport and I just wanted a last shot.)

DSC00012

Crown Point, how I miss you so. Everyone back home is laughing. They’re laughing and they’re saying “Nothings changed and nothing will.” (By the way, it HAS changed because you guys still don’t have any snow! Lucky Bastards!) Everyone is still going work, still sitting at Diamond Jim’s Bar and still going to the same old places with the same old people. And then there is me. Half way across the world. Living, eating and breathing in Germany. I don’t go to the same old job. I don’t go to the same bars and the same mall. And I most certainly don’t see the same people as I have the last 20 years. And, as my luck would have it, there is snow.

tumblr_m5tggioFxo1r473uyo1_500

A lot of people called it prison when I was growin’ up
But these are my roots and this is what I love
‘Cause everybody knows me and I know them
And I believe that’s the way we we’re supposed to live
I wouldn’t trade one single day in small town USA

2 thoughts on “Home

  1. Steven says:

    You’ve only taken your first step into a much larger world. By the time you’ve been here for a year, you’ll have been to other countries, learned a bit of the language and will probably be having the time of your life.

    Home sickness comes and goes- it’s a cycle, really- but if you can ride out the low points, you’ll have a great time. Just my $.02.

  2. bevchen says:

    As Steven says, homesickness comes and goes. Some part of you will always miss home, but after a few months and awesome experiences things will start to look very different. Home will always be home, but Germany will end up being a home away from home. And what could be better than having TWO places to call home?

say something

